Papers

DFA Authentication / Red Ribbon Papers for Fiancee to a German National

After receiving my passport with Fiancee Visa and had a CFO Sticker attached with it also, what other things I needed to prepare for my imminent departure? DFA Authenticated Papers.

WHY?

My passport will expire on 2015 and by that time, I’m already settled in Germany. But since I will not be a permanent resident of Germany yet, I will have to renew my passport at Philippine Embassy in Berlin, Germany still. One of their requirements for such request is to REPORT Marriage in Germany. Report of Marriage needs NSO Birth Certificate that is authenticated by DFA. DFA authentication is also known as red ribboned because they tie red ribbon on the papers.

IMG_0443

Now these are what I find very funny (please feel free to correct me if I’m mistaken with my ideas!)

1. I would have understood if agencies from other countries would request for Department of Foreign Affairs in Philippines to authenticate documents. I mean, what do they know about our NSO anyway. But take note that when we have applied for marriage at the city hall in Germany, our application papers were sent to Oberlandesgericht (a high court) and they accept my NSO Birth Certificate and NSO Certificate of no marriage and it’s translation to German of course.

And yet, our very own Philippine embassy does NOT accept NSO Birth Certificate?

2. Anywhere in Philippines, NSO Documents will suffice. There is no need to have it authenticated by DFA in Manila. So when you apply for SSS Number for example, you only need to bring NSO Birth Certificate and IDs.

Isn’t it that the Philippine Embassy located around the world a REPRESENTATIVE of Philippines? So, it’s like “a home” away from home for all Filipinos and yet NSO Documents alone is not enough unless it is authenticated by Department of Foreign Affairs?

I have contacted Philippine Embassy in Germany of course about these two points but there’s no response. My main motive behind these two ideas is that authentication cost money you know and if you really think and not just accept everything blindly, I think we could eliminate all these unnecessary expenses and save money.

Since I can’t expect any changes with the snap of my fingers, it was with heavy heart (and sad wallet)  that I had my papers processed.

So how did I have my NSO birth certificate authenticated by DFA in Manila without flying all the way to Manila or paying expensive fees at the travel agencies?

I simply went to WWWExpress/DHL office located in Ramos, Cebu (across Diplomat hotel) and have it processed for only 650 pesos. After 10 days, my red-ribboned documents were delivered at the address I have specified. :)

50 thoughts on “DFA Authentication / Red Ribbon Papers for Fiancee to a German National

  1. Yes, that’s true that even NSO documents alone will not be accepted by our consulates unless it has been authenticated by DFA. Authenticated DFA documents means that the documents you are submitting is not fake but genuine. And processing the legalization of Philippine documents these days are quite easy now even you are abroad. Just look up in Facebook for Doc Router page.

  2. How did you send your document’s nalang po, in what way po ninyo na send sa dfa sa manila ang mga documents nyo for authentication..?

    • if you read this post, you will find the answer at the bottom… i had it processed by WWWExpress/DHL. if you are in cebu, you will know the location of where i had it ordered… but you can research and find other office locations..

  3. Hi Love 2 type:

    Naa ba ka nailhan na mu translate ug documents to german language dinhi sa cebu? Except the consulate.

    Thanks

  4. Hi Karlota, I have question regarding the wwwexpress/Dhl. The time that this service assist you. What are the basic requirements they need? The appearance of the representative right? If so, is it necessary na either brother or sister ko?`Do they need my signature or kailangan pa ba nilang kumuha ng NSO? We are hanging kasi sa deadline.I am in Bremerhaven somewhere and I figured out it is useless to drive now in Berlin without my red ribbon papers.A very pathetic lame requirements they need.The office of the germany even just accept The nso itself then sarili nating embassy mas marami pang requirements….Hay nako…Hope to hear from you
    Best Regards
    Dawn Marie

    • hallo, i went to the wwwexpress/DHL myself. I processed my red ribbon just before coming here. If I remember it right, they looked at my ID only. However, my sister who is in Belgium needed a red ribboned birth certificate for naturalization purposes and my mom processed the papers for her. My sister only sent an email with attached copy of her passport data page and signed authorization letter. mom just printed them and showed it to DHL as well as her own ID. mom did not show her own NSO anymore to DHL. Yun lang ang kailangan ng DHL at that time.

      yes, my complaints exactly about the need for red ribboned by philippine embassy… kaya nga hindi tayo masyadong believe sa government natin kasi sila mismo hindi naniniwala sa ibang government agencies like nso… :)

  5. Hi Karlota, thanks for the response, I actually called the DHL right away after reading your blog and talking with my hubby about it.At first, he did not believe that these things are necessary and I told him na I think tayo lang ang naka limot dahil sa ang dami nangang papeles na na process.We are still dealing with the 10 days red ribbon procedure and hopefully by this coming monday, my sister will receive it but eventually, I do need to file affidavit of delay marriage kasi I am not sure if this will reach the target date.This is really a big help.Thanks for the update.

    • if I am not mistaken, philippine embassy in berlin updated their procedure and you have 1 year instead of a month to send the report of marriage application. not sure. please read the website for the updates to be very sure. i followed you in twitter. happy weekend.

  6. Hello Karlota! :)

    I am not sure how to great you as I am also a Cebuana and in love with a German Citizen. :) I just have read your blog and find it really inspiring and informative that I think you could help me with my present dilemma at the moment as me and my boyfriend (now my fiancé) are planning to get a Visa for marriage in Germany. Can I ask you about how you got your fiancé visa and how long was your waiting time to get it? And if you also took the Basic German Knowledge test? I am a university graduate so I called the Embassy hotline and as per instruction, I need to email them directly to know how will I be exempted from the exam and/or what forms I need to submit as proof since they do not specify it on their website. As with all these inquiries and anxiousness in my mind, I still feel it’s best to know your personal experience regarding this visa processing(if you don’t mind of course :) ) I have search on the internet about this topic and I only seen a few. But when I had bumped on your blog, I can feel that you can enlighten me well regarding this topic and to all your avid readers who shared the same problem with me. Best regards to you and your hubby! God bless! :)

  7. Hello Karlota! :)

    I am not sure how to greet you as I am also a Cebuana and in love with a German Citizen. :) I just have read your blog and find it really inspiring and informative that I think you could help me with my present dilemma as me and my boyfriend (now my fiancé) are planning to get a Visa for marriage in Germany. Can I ask you about how you got your fiancé visa and how long was your waiting time to get it? And if you also took the Basic German Language Knowledge test? I am a university graduate so I called the Embassy hotline and as per their instruction, I need to email them directly to know how will I be exempted from the exam and/or what forms I need to submit as proof since they do not specify it on their website. As with all these inquiries and anxiousness in my mind, I still feel it’s best to know your personal experience regarding this visa for marriage processing (if you don’t mind of course :) ) I have search on the internet about this topic and I only seen a few. But when I had bumped on your blog, I can feel that you can enlighten me well regarding this topic and to all your avid readers who shared the same problem with me. Best regards to you and your hubby! God bless! :)

  8. Oh thanks for your reply! Super helpful kaau imuha blog! :) Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences here during your visa processing! Hopefully, I’ll be able to be with my man soon cause lisud kaau ang long distance relationship. :( Anyways, keep sharing your thoughts and life now that you’re already there in Germany. Also, I really like your wedding concept! You and your hubby are such a beautiful couple! Bagay kaau mo! :) Thanks once again for the help! ;)

  9. hi carlota, ask ko lang kun kaylangan ba na ipa red ribbon ko pa yun marraige certificate namin ng german husband ko we married kasi dito sa pinas last sept. nakuha ko na yun SECPA NSO ng marraige cert. namin, may nagsabi kasi sa akin na friend ko na married din sa isang german citizen na kaylangan daw na marehistro yun marraige cert. namin ng german husband ko sa registry office nila sa germany para maging legal daw yun kasal namin, at pati ba yun birth certificate ko din required ba na ipa red ribbon din?
    maramimg salamat sana ay masagot mo agad yun tanung ko GOD BLESS.

    • i was married in germany. The registry office did not ask for authenticated birth certificate or whatsoever. Only the Philippine embassy require NSO papers to be authenticated. But different registry office in Germany has different requirements so please contact registry office where you plan to register if they needed it to be in red ribbon or not.

  10. hello there:) I just wanna ask if the birth certificate and cenomar you sent to your husband to Germany for Translation was authenticated in DFA or just the ordinary NSO paper and Cenomar will do?
    thank you for the reply

    • the standesamt where we processed our papers accepts ordinary nso. i do not know if the same applies to your standesamt. the german embassy also accepts nso papers. in my opinion, philippine offices like philippine embassy do not trust mere nso papers. i do not know why. perhaps to make sure people have jobs still and keep the money flowing.

      • Greetings!

        I already got my NSO Birth Cert with it’s receipt. Now, my questions are:

        Did you go to DHL yourself?or asked someone to do it for you with an authorization? Or you just ordered it online? If so, how?

        Can DHL send the authenticated paper directly here in Germany or they’ll send it to my local address in Phils.?

        How much is the cost?

        I’m not able to find answers on the link you provided that’s why I’m asking. Please email me @ toytowngermany@yahoo.com..Thank you.

        • i went to the DHL myself. parents can process authentication as long as with written authorization from their children. i am not sure about any other persons but parents have the right to get documents for their children in philippines. my sister asked mom to do this for her. The authenticated paper was sent to my mom and mom sent it to my sister in Belgium. I don’t remember posting any link for this post. if you read the post, you will find the cost.

  11. Php 650 to authenticate a NSO birth certificate?
    That’s too expensive. DFA only charges Php 100.00 to authenticate it.
    However, you’ll have to go to DFA yourself to process it.

    I dont think there is a problem going to DFA if you are from Cebu as DFA has a branch here in Cebu. The only downside you’ll encounter if you process it yourself, you will have to take the hassle of falling in line and waiting for your turn. :)

    • we were informed in DFA cebu that only Manila can do the authentication. but then again, DFA just changed office at that time I needed authentication or government rules have changed again. who knows.

      • Hi.just want to asked about legal capacity to contract marriage at cenomar kng anu Pinag kaiba s knila? Kasi pumunta aq dto s philippine consulate s Hk para kumuha ng legal capacity ang sabi ng babae dun n hnd dw nya alam .instead Cnabihan nya aq n kukuha ng cenomar.until now Hindi o aq nka kuha ng legal capacity :( hope to hear your reply soon. Thanks

        • i didn’t bother getting legal capacity to contract marriage. from what i know, cenomar is certificate that you haven’t been married before. you can get that at the nso. when we applied for marriage in germany, i need to get legal capacity to contract marriage from philippine embassy in germany but i cannot do that because i needed visa first. so i only sent my cenomar and the register office in germany accepted that still but of course she had to send that to the high court in germany for futher checking. Legal capacity of marriage if I am not mistaken is to be obtained from the embassy in the foreign land where you wish to get married. anyway, who requested legal capacity of marriage in the first place? if there is no need for this then maybe cenomar will just do…

  12. Hi po. Gusto ko pong kumuha ng cenomar na my red ribbon na.kasi ga gagamitin ko sa Dubai Kaso Hindi ko alam Kung saan ako mag aply para maka kuha na ng red ribbon na cenomar..sana matulongan nyo po ako para maekasal na ako sa fiancé ko

    • I dont know where you can get cenomar with red ribbon already because different agency is in charged of those processes. You go to nso to get cenomar and when you have cenomar, punta ka naman sa dfa para red ribbon or ipa dhl mo na lang kung wala ka sa manila.

    • Who is checking the documents exactly? Embassy of germany in manila or one of the offices in germany? Always go back with the requirements for visa from the embassy and see which one you haven’t submitted yet and which one you can work on right now. Otherwise, it is mostly a waiting game…

        • If you have submitted ALL documents already and all is cleared and approved with the offices in germany then sitting pretty ka lang dyan and wait for them to finish their checking of your documents. Otherwise, work on the rest of your requirements.

          • Hi karlota!,just want to asked Again based po s experience nyo po…tapos na ung checking of documents q and ok na po pati translation…after that e checked dn dw nla ang bf q…ilang months po Bago mgka result ang checking s bf q? Thanks

              • hi, i onli have some questions regarding your post. i have my cenomar and nso here in czech republic, but these are not yet red ribbon, how can i make this possible to be red ribbon? should i mail my papers to Phils. and let someone from my family wil do the process.? i realy thought u processed ur papers red ribbon while ur in germany, so u were stil in cebu that time? pls. advice.thnks.

                • Yup, only dfa n pinas does the red ribbon thingy… i processed mine while still in pinas.. you can ask your parents. where are u in czech? Prag? I love prag….

Leave a Reply

