Knitting

Stricken for Megumi

I can’t tell you how excited I am for the second baby so I can knit more baby stuff. But since I am not yet pregnant, I have to make do with knitting for my new niece.

IMG_20160219_100317

Hospital does not advice wool for baby clothes so as much as I love Merino wool, I have to settle for cotton. For this project, I am using Myboshi Cotton-Kapok yarn which is perfect for babies and small children. At the beginning though, I find it weird working with this yarn because it seems so harsh and holey using the 5 mm knitting needle but I kept on anyway until I have worked some inches and realized how wrong I was. Now, I am a big fan of myboshi.

Because I do not want to forget what I did with these baby set by the time that I do get pregnant again someday, I have to blog about them.

For the hat, I am knitting along with PleasantSeas’ Princess Charlotte Bonnet from youtube.

As for the socks, I am knitting along with Guidecentral’s Fast and Cute Baby Booties. But I tweaked a bit however because I casted 33 stitches instead of 31.

As for the mittens, well, I made it all up because I cannot find any videos in youtube that uses simple straight needles. I do not have round needles yet and handling 4 double pointed needles at the same time is a bit too much for me at the moment so this mitten is all mine. Even added an eyelet so I can string along a yarn across my mittens by knitting 2 together (K2tog) and yarning over (YO). So basically, I casted 20 stitches and made a rectangle of knits and purls then sew them close and that’s it.

All in all, I used 100 grams of myboshi (200 meters) for the hat, mittens and socks which I find surprising because everything is for a small baby. This made me wonder how much I will be using up when knitting for the adults. But thankfully, Mann is supportive enough to pay for my shit so he ordered me my set of loom rings, needles and even my liebling merino wool.🙂

So anyway, baby set has just been sent to Belgium today and hope it fits the intended. Next is a matching scarf and hat for my dearest Mirang and Mann.

5 thoughts on “Stricken for Megumi

Leave a Reply

